A Mixtape Created by North Highlands

A Mixtape Created by North Highlands
A Mixtape Created by North Highlands

Last Sunday, we gave you a sneak peak at North Highlands’ upcoming debut Wild One, which is due out October 18th. Judging by the sound of their lead single “Benefits,” you may expect their tastes to hover in between Indie pop and folk. That would be a misguided notion, so we had the New York City outfit curate a mixtape that shows us what they are really about. The results could not have come out anymore diverse or eclectic. Here’s what they had to say about it:

We all listen to a crazy hodgepodge of music and all come from different places with our musical tastes. Each of us chose 2 or 3 songs to put on the mixtape to keep it a group effort. And hot damn, its a weird one.

  1. Oby Onyioha - "Enjoy Your Life"
  2. Brenton Wood - "The Oogum Boogum Song"
  3. Holger Czukay - "Cool In The Pool"
  4. David Axelrod (and the Electric Prunes) - "Holy Are You"
  5. Todd Rundgren - "Tic Tic Tic, It Wears Off"
  6. Unknown Mortal Orchestra - "Little Blu House"
  7. Gang Of Four - "Natural's Not In It"
  8. Brian Eno - "Here Come the Warm Jets"
  9. Kurt Vile - "Heart Attack"
  10. Mariah - "心臓の扉"
  11. Indeep - "Last Night A DJ Saved My Life (Mirage Remix)"
  12. Tiga - "Shoes"

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,